Hauora Māori Advisory Committee

The Hauora Māori Advisory Committee is a key element in strengthening the Te Tiriti-based relationship between the Crown and Māori in the health system, providing Māori a voice at the highest level of decision making in the new system.

An interim Hauora Māori Advisory Committee was established on 1 July 2022 under section 89 of the Pae Ora (Healthy Futures) Act 2022.

The purpose of the Hauora Māori Advisory Committee (the Committee) is to advise the Minister of Health on matters relating to Te Aka Whai Ora and to the Public Health Advisory Committee. They also work to ensure the voices of Māori are heard at all levels of decision making in the health system and by doing so, support the delivery of equitable outcomes for Māori.

An interim committee

In June 2022, the Minister of Health announced the appointment of members to the interim Hauora Māori Advisory Committee. These appointments were critical to the establishment of Te Aka Whai Ora.

The Committee will remain as interim until the establishment of iwi Māori Partnership Boards when it will become permanent.

By June 2024 the Committee will be nominated directly by Māori through the Iwi Māori Partnership Boards and Māori health organisations, as required under section 90 of the Pae Ora Act.

Functions of the committee

The Hauora Māori Advisory Committee has a key role in providing advice to the Minister of Health on:

  • Appointing members to the Te Aka Whai Ora Board.
  • Appointing members to the Public Health Advisory Committee.
  • Requiring Te Aka Whai Ora to develop an improvement plan.
  • Issuing Letters of expectation to Te Aka Whai Ora.
  • Requiring amendments to Te Aka Whai Ora’s Statement of Intent or Statement of performance Expectations.
  • Appointing a Crown observer to Te Aka Whai Ora; or,
  • Replacing all members of the Te Aka Whai Ora board with a commissioner.
  • The Committee may provide other advice as requested by the Minister.

The Minister must seek and consider the Committees advice before exercising any of these powers, and where the Minister does not agree with the Committee’s advice, make a public notification.

Membership of the committee

The interim Hauora Māori Advisory Committee consists of eight members who were appointed by the Minister of Health, after consultation with the Minister for Māori Development.

  • Parekawhia McLean – Chair (Ngāti Mahanga-Hourua, Waikato, Ngāti Maniapoto)
  • Margareth Broodkoorn (Ngāpuhi, Dutch)
  • Dr Matire Harwood (Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Rangi, Te Mahurehure, Ngāti Hine)
  • Amohaere Houkamau (Ngati Porou, with affiliations to Rongowhakaata, Ngāti Kahungunu and Ngāti Mutunga ki Taranaki)
  • Dr Jim Mather (Ngāti Awa, Ngāi Tūhoe and English descent)
  • Rahui Papa (Ngāti Korokī-Kahukura, Waikato-Tainui)
  • Tā Mark Solomon (Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Kurī)
  • Lisa Tumahai (Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Waewae, Makaawhio)

Review of early progress and implementation by Te Aka Whai Ora

At the end of March 2023, the Minister and Associate Minister of Health commissioned the Committee to undertake a high-level assessment of the early progress and plans of Te Aka Whai Ora to ensure it is meeting expectations, commitments and priorities set by Cabinet.

Read the full report:

Key documents in the development of the review of Te Aka Whai Ora

In the interest of transparency and public trust, Manatū Hauora has released key documents that led to the release of the Hauora Māori Advisory Committee’s review of Te Aka Whai Ora. These documents provide context into the development of the review. They can be accessed online at Assessment of Te Aka Whai Ora.

Contact information

For any queries regarding the Hauora Māori Advisory Committee, please email [email protected]

Back to top