Professional development and recognition programmes

Each district health board, and some other nursing employers, offers a Professional Development and Recognition Programme for nurses.

The programmes recognise three levels of nursing practice:

  • competent
  • proficient
  • expert.

Under the programmes, nurses are assessed against set criteria for each level, so that their current level of practice is recognised. The programmes support nurses’ ongoing professional development.

Visit the NZ Nurses Organisation and the Nursing Council websites to find out more.

Back to top