COVID-19 Testing Technical Advisory Group (CT TAG)

The COVID-19 Testing Technical Advisory Group (CT TAG) will provide rapid, independent, and practical advice to the Director-General of Health on testing technologies, to inform New Zealand’s COVID-19 response and the work to reconnect Aotearoa New Zealand to the world.


  • Prof David Murdoch (Chair) – Dean and Head of Campus, University of Otago, Christchurch
  • Kirsten Beynon – General Manager, Canterbury Health Laboratories, CDHB and West Coast DHB Laboratory
  • Dr Maia Brewerton – Clinical Immunologist, Allergist & Immunopathologist, ADHB
  • Prof Patricia Priest – Prof Epidemiology, Dunedin School of Medicine, University of Otago
  • Pisila Fanolua – Charge Nurse Manager, Managed Isolation Quarantine Facilities
  • Dr Susan Morpeth – Clinical Microbiologist, CMDHB, Chair of the New Zealand Microbiology Network (NZMN)
  • Dr Tim Blackmore – Infectious Diseases Physician, Capital and Coast DHB
Back to top