COVID-19 Technical Advisory Group

The Technical Advisory Group has been established as part of the Ministry’s response to COVID-19.


  • Dr Ian Town (Chair) - Chief Science Advisor, Ministry of Health
  • Associate Professor Patricia Priest - Associate Professor Epidemiology, Dunedin School of Medicine, University of Otago
  • Dr Anja Werno - Chief of Pathology and Laboratories, Canterbury Health Laboratories
  • Dr Bryan Betty - Medical Director, Royal New Zealand College of General Practice
  • Dr Collin Tukuitonga - Pacific COVID-19 Response Team
  • Dr Erasmus Smit - Virologist, ESR
  • Dr Matire Harwood - Te Rōpū Whakakaupapa Urutā / Māori Pandemic Coordination Group
  • Dr Nigel Raymond - Infectious Disease Physician, Chair NZ Committee of Australasian Society for Infectious Disease
  • Dr Sally Roberts - Clinical Head of Microbiology and Acting Clinical Director of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (LabPlus), National Clinical Lead for the IPC programme, Auckland District Health Board
  • Dr Shanika Perera - Medical Officer of Health, ARPHS (WDHB, ADHB, CMH)
  • Dr Virginia Hope - Medical Director, ESR
  • Professor Michael Baker - Department of Public Health, University of Otago
Back to top