Cancer Patient Survival 1994–2011

Published online: 
14 April 2015
Publication cover


This interactive report supersedes the Cancer patient survival covering the period 1994 to 2007 publication released by the Ministry of Health in 2010.

The cancer registration data analysed in this report is from the years 1994 to 2011, with follow-up (mortality) information to 31 December 2013.

The report shows a broad overview of cancer survival in New Zealand, and provides information for 24 cancers. Survival is presented by age, sex, ethnic group, extent of disease and deprivation. Survival data has been analysed over time, to show how one-year and five-year survival has changed between 1998 and 2011. Cumulative relative and interval-specific survival is also presented to show survival for up to 10 years after the date of diagnosis.

Survival information is provided for 24 cancers. The brackets next to the cancer show the corresponding ICD code(s). These cancers do not include children in the analysis; 'Childhood cancers' presents survival for patients aged 0–14 years with any type of cancer.

  • All adult cancers (C00–C96, D45–D47)
  • Bladder (C67)
  • Brain (C71)
  • Breast – female (C50)
  • Cervix (C53)
  • Childhood cancers (C00–C96, D45–D47, ages 0–14)
  • Colorectum and anus (C18–C21)
  • Head, neck and larynx (C00–C14, C32)
  • Hodgkin lymphoma (C81)
  • Kidney, ureter and urethra (C64–C66, C68)
  • Leukaemia (C91–C95)
  • Liver and intrahepatic bile ducts (C22)
  • Melanoma (C43)
  • Myeloma (C90)
  • Non-Hodgkin lymphoma (C82–C85, C96)
  • Oesophagus (C15)
  • Ovary (C56)
  • Pancreas (C25)
  • Prostate (C61)
  • Stomach (C16)
  • Testis (C62)
  • Thyroid (C73)
  • Trachea, bronchus and lung (C33–C34)
  • Uterus (C54–C55)

Publishing information

  • Date of publication:
    14 April 2015
  • ISBN:
  • HP number:
  • Citation:
    Ministry of Health. 2015. Cancer patient survival 1994–2011. Wellington: Ministry of Health.
  • Ordering information:
    Only soft copy available to download
  • Copyright status:

    Owned by the Ministry of Health and licensed for reuse under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licence.

Back to top