Māori health models

The Māori philosophy towards health is based on a wellness or holistic health model. For many Māori the major deficiency in modern health services is taha wairua (spiritual dimension).

Te Whare Tapa Whā: Mason Durie

The four cornerstones (or sides) of Māori health are whānau (family health), tinana (physical health), hinengaro (mental health) and wairua (spiritual health).

Transcript | Download PDF (643 KB)

Te Wheke: Rose Pere

Another model of Māori health is based on Te Wheke, the octopus and the eight tentacles that collectively contribute to waiora or total wellbeing.

Transcript | Download PDF (1.9 MB)

Te Pae Mahutonga: Mason Durie

Te Pae Mahutonga (Southern Cross Star Constellation) brings together elements of modern health promotion.

Transcript | Download PDF (153 KB)

Back to top