Membership of the Midwifery Strategic Advisory Group

Member Agency
Midwifery Strategic Advisory Group Members

Helen Pocknall (Chair)

Deputy Chair Health Workforce New Zealand

Jean Te Huia

Chairperson Nga Maia Aotearoa me Te Waipounamu

Dr Judith McAra-Couper

Chair Midwifery Council of New Zealand

Dr Susan Calvert

Deputy Registrar, Midwifery Regulation and Outreach

Karen Guilliland

Chief Executive, New Zealand College of Midwives

Alison Eddy

Professional Projects Advisor, New Zealand College of Midwives

Megan Tahere

Maori Advisor, New Zealand College of Midwives

Dr Robyn Maude

Senior Lecturer, Graduate School of Nursing, Midwifery & Health, Victoria University

Chris Davey

Clinical Midwife Manager, West Coast DHB

Belinda Chapman

Associate Director of Midwifery, Taranaki DHB

Dr Sarah Wadsworth

Clinical Leader Obstetrics, Middlemore Hospital

Brenda Hinton

Maternity Services Consumer Council

Rose Swindells


Cornelia Roodt

Associate Director of Midwifery, Waikato DHB

Sharon Mason

Chief Operating Officer, Hawkes Bay DHB

Mary Kensington

Co-Head of Midwifery, School of Midwifery, Department of Nursing, Midwifery & Allied Health, Ara Institute of Canterbury.

Thelma Thompson

Director of Midwifery, Middlemore Hospital

Back to top