Minister of Health Volunteer Awards - categories and criteria

Organisations can choose to nominate an individual volunteer or team of volunteers. Nominations could be for long-term commitment and achievement, an outstanding success, or action above and beyond the call of duty.


Awards categories

  • Health Volunteer of the Year
  • Outstanding achievement by a Health Care Provider Service (including hospitals, Public Health Organisations and General Practice practitioners)
  • Outstanding achievement by a Community or NGO Health Service
  • Outstanding achievement by a Māori/Pacific Health Service
  • Outstanding achievement by a Youth Health Volunteer
  • Outstanding achievement in Long Service


  1. Health Care Provider Service award
    (including hospitals, Public Health Organisations and General Practice practitioners)

    This award celebrates the outstanding contributions of inspirational individual or teams of volunteers to a health care provider in New Zealand.

    Nominees will have demonstrated excellence in the health and disability sector; particularly towards the health of people and communities, meeting local, regional and national needs and promoting effective care and support of those in need.

  2. Community/NGO Health Service award
    This individual or team award honours those who have demonstrated ongoing commitment within a health and disability non-governmental organisation.

    Nominees will have provided excellent services at community level, and offer outstanding support and dedication within primary health care, mental health, personal health and/or disability support services. 

  3. Māori/Pacific Health Service award
    This award honours individual or teams of volunteers who show passion and commitment to a Māori/Pacific health service.

    Nominees will have contributed to māori health and disability services through their ongoing dedication and enthusiasm. They ensure their communities are supported to the highest degree. 

  4. Youth Health Volunteer award
    This award acknowledges those aged 10–30 who have shown an exceptional and outstanding commitment to a health service organisation. It recognises our health leaders of tomorrow and promotes aspiring youth leadership.

    Nominees are young people who strive to develop and improve New Zealand’s health and disability communities and inspire others to take initiative to produce a bright future for New Zealand.
  5. Long Service
    This award recognises volunteers who have made a long-standing commitment to voluntary work for health and disability organisations.
Back to top