

Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Investment to Increase Access to Medicines

Portfolio Health

On 23 November 2022, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee:

- noted that an additional \$66 million increase in the level of the Combined Pharmaceutical Budget (CPB) for the 2023/24 financial year only would give Pharmac additional scope to invest in more new medicines;
- noted that, by Pharmac's assessment, the above investment would enable Pharmac to invest in a number of medicines \$ 9(2)(b)(ii)
- agreed to increase the level of the Combined Pharmaceutical Budget by \$66 million for the 2023/24 financial year only, from the following funding sources:

		\$ millions
s 9(2)(f)	(iv)	
Total		66.000

4 s 9(2)(f)(iv)

COMMERCIAL : BUDGET : SENSITIVE

SWC-22-MIN-0221

approved the following changes to appropriations to give effect to the decisions in paragraphs 3 and 4 above, with a corresponding impact on the operating balance and net core Crown debt:

	\$ millions – increase / (decrease)					
	2022/23	2023/24	2024/25	2025/26	2026/27 & outyears	
Vote Health Minister of Health Non- Departmental Output Expense: National Purchasing of Pharmaceuticals	-	66.000	-	-		
Vote Health Minister for COVID-19 Response Multi-Category Expenses and Capital Expenditure: National response to COVID-19 across the health sector MCA Non-Departmental Output Expense: COVID-19 Public Health Response	(41.563)	-				
Total Operating	(41.563)	66.000	-	-	-	

agreed that the changes to the appropriations for 2022/23 in paragraph 5 above be included in the 2022/23 Supplementary Estimates;

7 s 9(2)(f)(iv)

8 **noted** that ongoing funding requirements from 2024/25 will be considered through the Budget 2024 process.

Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

Present:

Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern

Hon Grant Robertson

Hon Kelvin Davis

Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon Chris Hipkins

Hon Carmel Sepuloni (Chair)

Hon Andrew Little

Hon Poto Williams

Hon Willie Jackson

Hon Jan Tinetti

Hon Dr David Clark

Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall

Hon Priyanca Radhakrishnan

Hon Meka Whaitiri

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister

Office of the Chair

Officials Committee for SWC