

# **Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee**

### **Minute of Decision**

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

## **Suicide Prevention Progress: Second Annual Update**

Portfolio Health

On 28 September 2022, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee (SWC):

- noted that in September 2019, the Cabinet Business Committee invited the Minister of Health to provide annual updates to the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee on progress against the actions in *He Tapu te Oranga* [CBC-19-MIN-0034];
- **noted** that in April 2021, the Minister provided Cabinet with the first annual suicide prevention progress update [SWC-21-SUB-0033];
- noted the second annual update on progress against the eight action areas in *He Tapu te Oranga* attached under SWC-22-SUB-0167;
- 4 **noted** that while it will take time to see a change in suicide rates and there is more work to do, good progress is being made to strengthen suicide prevention, which is enhanced by wider work across government to promote mental wellbeing including through implementing *Kia Manawanui* and the government's response to COVID-19;
- 5 **invited** the Minister of Health to report back to SWC by 30 June 2023 with the next annual update on suicide prevention progress, which will include:
  - 5.1 information and data on other adversely affected populations, including Asian communities, pregnant women, and Veterans;
  - 5.2 the wider government programmes that are contributing to suicide prevention.

#### Rachel Clarke

Committee Secretary

#### Present:

Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern

Hon Grant Robertson

Hon Chris Hipkins

Hon Carmel Sepuloni

Hon Andrew Little

Hon Poto Williams

Hon Peeni Henare

Hon Willie Jackson

Hon Kiri Allan

Hon Priyanca Radhakrishnan

Hon Meka Whaitiri

#### Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Office of the SWC Chair Officials Committee for SWC