

Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

New Zealand Public Health and Disability (Health Promotion Agency Levy) Order 2021

Portfolio Health

On 20 May 2021, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- **noted** that Te Hiringa Hauora's alcohol-related programmes are funded through a levy that applies to imported and manufactured alcohol, and that this levy is set by Order in Council;
- 2 **noted** that section 2(1) of Schedule 4A of the New Zealand Public Health and Disability Act 2000 requires the Minister of Health to act with the concurrence of the Minister of Finance to assess the aggregate expenditure figure each year;
- noted the advice of the Minister of Health that this requirement has been met;
- **noted** that the aggregate levy figure for 2021/22 has been set at \$11.530 million, equal to that for 2020/21;
- 5 **noted** that the individual levies that will be set by the Order in Council for the six classes of alcohol described by the Act are:

Class	Method of determining the rate of alcohol in class	Rate applied	Amount of levy (\$ per ℓ)
A	Schedule	1.50%	0.005116
В	Variable	4.42%	0.015058
C	Schedule	8.00%	0.027283
D	Schedule	10.00%	0.034104
E	Variable	17.35%	0.059181
F	Variable	37.5%	0.127876

- authorised the submission to the Executive Council of the New Zealand Public Health and Disability (Health Promotion Agency Levy) Order 2021 [PCO 23816/2.0];
- 7 **noted** that the New Zealand Public Health and Disability (Health Promotion Agency Levy) Order 2021 will come into force on 1 July 2021.

Rebecca Davies Committee Secretary

See over for attendance

Present:

Hon Chris Hipkins (Chair)

Hon Megan Woods

Hon Carmel Sepuloni

Hon Andrew Little

Hon David Parker

Hon Poto Williams

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Jan Tinetti

Hon Jan Tinetti

Hon Michael Wood (Deputy Chair)

Hon Ayesha Verrall

Hon Meka Whaitiri

Kieran McAnulty, MP (Senior Government Whip)

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for LEG