

# Cabinet Business Committee

## Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

### **Medicines Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2021**

Portfolio Health

On 25 August 2021, the Cabinet Business Committee:

- 1 **noted** that the Minister of Health has classified certain medicines as prescription, restricted, or pharmacy-only by notice in the New Zealand Gazette, but that such notices are valid only for six months;
- 2 **noted** that the Medicines Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2021 will incorporate the temporary classifications into the Medicines Regulations 1984, making them permanent;
- 3 **noted** that the Amendment Regulations make technical changes to the classifications of some vaccines, to preserve the status quo and provide clarification;
- 4 **noted** that a waiver of the 28-day rule is sought:
  - 4.1 so that the regulations can come into force as soon as possible;
  - 4.2 on the grounds that these amendments have little or no effect on the public;
- 5 **agreed** to waive the 28-day rule so that the regulations can come into force on as soon as possible;
- 6 **noted** that in accordance with the requirements of section 105 of the Medicines Act 1981, the Minister of Health is satisfied that consultation has occurred with such organisations or bodies as appear to him to be representative of persons likely to be substantially affected by the regulations;
- 7 **authorised** the submission to the Executive Council of the Medicines Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2021 [PCO 24042/2.0].

Jenny Vickers Committee Secretary

#### Attendees: (see over)

#### IN CONFIDENCE

#### Present:

Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern (Chair) Hon Grant Robertson Hon Kelvin Davis Hon Dr Megan Woods Hon Carmel Sepuloni Hon Andrew Little Hon David Parker Hon Nanaia Mahuta Hon Poto Williams Hon Damien O'Connor Hon Stuart Nash Hon Kris Faafoi Hon Michael Wood Hon Dr David Clark Hon Aupito William Sio

**Officials present from:** Office of the Prime Minister Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

2