

# Cabinet Legislation Committee

# Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

## New Zealand Public Health and Disability (Alcohol Levy) Order 2022

## Portfolio Health

On 19 May 2022, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- 1 **noted** that Te Hiringa Hauora's alcohol-related programmes are funded through a levy that applies to imported and manufactured alcohol, and that the levy, attached under LEG-22-SUB-0075, is set by Order in Council;
- 2 **noted** that when Te Hiringa Hauora is disestablished and the New Zealand Public Health and Disability Act 2000 (the NZPHD Act) is repealed as part of the health and disability system reforms, the levy funding will transition to the Ministry of Health under the Pae Ora Act;
- 3 **noted** that clause 2(1) of Schedule 4A of the NZPHD Act requires the Minister of Health to act with the concurrence of the Minister of Finance to assess the aggregate expenditure figure each year, and that this requirement has been met;
- 4 **noted** that the aggregate expenditure figure for 2022/23 has been set at \$11.560 million, equal to that for 2021/22;
- 5 **noted** that the individual levies that will be set by the Order in Council for the six classes of alcohol described by the Act are:

С	lass	Method of determining the rate of alcohol in class	Rate applied	Amount of levy (\$ per ℓ)
	Α	Schedule	1.50%	0.005594
	В	Variable	4.37%	0.016282
	С	Schedule	8.00%	0.029833
	D	Schedule	10.00%	0.037291
	Е	Variable	16.99%	0.063343
	F	Variable	38.66%	0.144172

6 **authorised** the submission to the Executive Council of the New Zealand Public Health and Disability (Alcohol Levy) Order 2022 [PCO 24747/2.0];

### IN CONFIDENCE

7 **noted** that the New Zealand Public Health and Disability (Alcohol Levy) Order 2022 will come into force on 30 June 2022.

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister

Officials Committee for LEG

Rebecca Davies Committee Secretary

#### Present:

Hon Chris Hipkins (Chair) Hon Andrew Little Hon David Parker Hon Kris Faafoi Hon Jan Tinetti Hon Kiri Allan Hon Dr David Clark Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall Hon Aupito William Sio Hon Meka Whaitiri Keiran McAnulty, MP (Senior Government Whip)