

Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Medicines Amendment Bill: Approval for Introduction

Portfolio Health

On 19 May 2021, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee, having been authorised by Cabinet to have Power to Act [CAB-21-MIN-0172]:

- noted that on 17 May 2021, Cabinet agreed to amend the Medicines Act 1981 to clarify and enable provisional consents in certain cases [CAB-21-MIN-0170];
- 2 **noted** that the Medicines Amendment Bill (the Bill) will amend section 23 of the Medicines Act 1981 to clarify the circumstances for granting provisional consent for medicines to be made by the Minister of Health:
 - 2.1 on a time limited basis;
 - 2.2 where Medsafe is satisfied on the basis of the data available the medicine is sufficiently more likely than not to be safe to use;
 - 2.3 where the benefits outweigh the risks;
 - 2.4 for conditions to be made relating to the product sponsor and/ or to any aspects of the consent; and
 - 2.5 in a manner that remains consistent with sections 20, 21 and 22 of the Medicines Act 1981:
- noted that the Bill will validate a number of existing provisional consents that have been granted by Medsafe that have been made where a question may be raised as to whether they are intended to be sold to, supplied to or used by more than a limited number of patients, including the provisional consent of the COVID-19 Pfizer vaccine;
- 4 **approved** for introduction the Medicines Amendment Bill [PCO 23826/3.1];
- 5 **agreed** that the Bill:
 - 5.1 be introduced and passed through all stages on Wednesday 19 June 2021;
 - 5.2 will come into force on the day after Royal Assent.

Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

Present: (see over)

Present:

Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern

Hon Grant Robertson

Hon Kelvin Davis

Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon Chris Hipkins

Hon Carmel Sepuloni (Chair)

Hon Andrew Little

Hon Peeni Henare

Hon Willie Jackson (part of item)

Hon Jan Tinetti

Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall

Hon Aupito William Sio

Hon Meka Whaitiri

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Office of the SWC Chair Office of the Attorney-General Crown Law Officials Committee for SWC

