Māori health models – Te Pae Mahutonga

Te Pae Mahutonga (Southern Cross Star Constellation) brings together elements of modern health promotion.

In the diagram below, the four central stars of the Southern Cross represent four key tasks of health promotion:

  • Mauriora (cultural identity)
  • Waiora (physical environment)
  • Toiora (healthy lifestyles)
  • Te Oranga (participation in society)

The two pointers represent Ngā Manukura (community leadership) and Te Mana Whakahaere (autonomy).

Te Pae Mahutonga diagram.

This model was developed by Mason Durie.

Back to top