Te Tatau Kitenga: National Youth Health Leadership Group

Te Tatau Kitenga has been established to provide expert advice and recommendations to the Ministry of Health on youth-related topics and services, especially for our priority groups: rangatahi Māori, Pacific young people, rainbow rangatahi, rangatahi in care and rangatahi with disability.

Whakamaua, the Māori Health Action Plan 2020–2025 outlines a suite of actions that will help to achieve four high-level outcomes. These outcomes are:

  • iwi, hapū, whānau and Māori communities exercising their authority to improve their health and wellbeing
  • ensuring the health and disability system is fair and sustainable and delivers more equitable outcomes for Māori
  • addressing racism and discrimination in all its forms.
  • protecting mātauranga Māori throughout the health and disability system.

Te Tatau Kitenga includes Te Rōpū Mātanga o Rangatahi (Te Rōpū). Te Rōpū provides leadership and advice to ensure that the work of Te Tatau Kitenga supports achievement of these outcomes.

In Budget 2019, Government committed to extending and enhancing School Based Health Services (SBHS) as an action to ‘inspire active, healthy and creative children and young people’ in the Government’s Child and Youth Wellbeing Current Programme of Action. Te Tatau Kitenga is tasked with advising the Ministry what an extended and enhanced model of SBHS should look like for the rangatahi of Aotearoa and the steps needed for the appropriate implementation of the enhancements.  


Te Tatau Kitenga is a group of youth health professionals selected for their expertise in working with young people, their wider contributions to the youth health, their expertise in te ao Māori and mātauranga Māori sector, and their experience with SBHS. The members are from variety of regions (including rural), health professions, and SBHS delivery models. 

Te Tatau Kitenga membership


Job title/role


Anita Balhorn

Manager Youth Health Service, Youth Health Nurse Specialist, SYHPANZ Chair

Hawkes Bay

Aniva Lawrence

GP, Clinical Director Youth Health Mahitahi Hauora, Chair Te Rōpū, Co-Chair Te Tatau Kitenga


Audrey Robin



Bridget Farrant

Adolescent physician, Co-Chair Te Tatau Kitenga

Counties Manukau

Christine Cammell

Professional Teaching Fellow, University of Auckland, Project Lead, NZ School Nurses Website


Emily Oughton

Youth Health doctor, GP


Jason Tuhoe



Kate ChiTar

Nurse Practitioner, Youth School Health

Counties Manukau

Koha Aperahama

Nurse, Northland District Health Board

Tai Tokerau

Lee-ann O'Brien

Manager Whanake Youth Health and Wellbeing Trust, Adolescent Nurse Specialist


Liz Read

HBDHB Public Health Nurse Manager

Hawkes Bay

Rachel McGillan

Youth Health CNS and Nurse Consultant


Sue Bagshaw

Youth Health Primary Care specialist, Doctor


Terryann Clark

Associate Professor, School of Nursing, University of Auckland


Tracey Wihongi

Youth Health Nurse, Northland District Health Board

Tai Tokerau

Vicki Shaw

Youth Health doctor


Back to top