Primary maternity services

This page provides information for the sector on provision and payment for primary maternity services.

Primary Maternity Services Notice 2021

The current Primary Maternity Services Notice 2007 which sets out the terms, services and fee structures for primary maternity care providers is being updated.

Implementing new funding of $85 million (over four years) allocated in Budget 2020 requires changes to the Notice, in order to deliver funding for additional primary maternity services to women with complex needs, and to women living in rural areas.

The Primary Maternity Services Notice 2021 will come into effect later this year.

The Ministry of Health undertook a public consultation on proposed changes to the existing Notice from 4 September to 13 November 2020.

Find out more about the Primary Maternity Services Notice 2021 Consultation.

In preparation for implementation of the Primary Maternity Services Notice 2021, the Ministry is hosting a series of stakeholder information sessions across Aotearoa New Zealand.

These sessions will give people working in the maternity sector the opportunity to find out about the changes to the Primary Maternity Services Notice 2021, to learn about the Health Information Standards Organisation (HISO) Maternity Care Summary Standard and the New Zealand Perinatal Spine projects.

Find out more about the Stakeholder information sessions.

Primary Maternity Services Notice 2007

The Primary Maternity Services Notice 2007 (the Notice) sets out the terms and conditions for Lead Maternity Carers and other authorised practitioners to claim for providing primary maternity services.

An authorised practitioner can be a general practitioner, midwife or obstetrician who holds an authorisation to claim for services provided under the Notice.

The Notice is now being amended so that new services and funding can be implemented and for primary maternity services provided to women with complex clinical and/or social needs, and women living in rural areas. The changes will come into effect in the second half of 2021.

Providing primary maternity services

In order to provide and be paid for primary maternity services, you must submit an Application for Authority to Claim under the Primary Maternity Services Notice 2007 to the Ministry of Health. Go to Registering as a maternity provider to find out more.

Claiming for primary maternity services

Primary maternity service providers who have an authorisation to claim under the Notice may make claims for services direct to the Ministry. Go to Maternity claims information to find out more.

The Ministry also has a direct portal for online maternity claiming. Go to Online Maternity Claiming: User Guide to find out more.

Maternity Facility Access Agreement

The Maternity Facility Access Agreement is a contract which sets out the obligations of lead maternity carers accessing DHB maternity facilities when bringing women into hospital for labour and birth services. The Access Agreement, also Schedule 3 Primary Maternity Services Notice 2007, was reviewed in 2006.

Guidelines for Consultation with Obstetric and Related Medical Services (Referral Guidelines)

These guidelines provide Lead Maternity Carers with information about the categories of referral, referral pathways and criteria on which LMCs should advise women that a referral is warranted.

Back to top