Well Child Tamariki Ora Review Update: 26 March 2019

The following letter was sent from the Deputy Director-General of Health, Population Health and Prevention, on 26 March 2019.

Tēnā koutou katoa, Mālo e lelei, Tālofa lava, Kia orana, Tāloha ni, Fakalofa lahi atu, Ni sa bula vinaka, namaste, ni hao, and warm greetings to you all.

Well Child Tamariki Ora Review Update

Thanks to everyone who attended the Well Child Tamariki Ora Symposium in Auckland on 13 March. This was a great opportunity to start the discussion about how we can best engage with New Zealanders about the Well Child Tamariki Ora Review.

In particular, we were pleased to hear many attendees saying the Review is timely, echoing what we heard during the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet’s Health Sector Regional Engagements held around Aotearoa New Zealand last November and December.

Achieving the wellbeing of tamariki and youth is a top priority for Government and among Government agencies, and the Review is well-placed to help our health system achieve this. Feedback collected during the Review will help shape the Ministry’s contribution to the cross-agency Child and Youth Wellbeing Strategy.

Key Review milestones

  • March 2019: Planning Phase. The Review Planning Phase comes to an end in late March.
  • June 2019: Early Analysis Phase. The Review’s Early Analysis Phase continues through until June. During this phase, evidence and data will be gathered to inform the shape of the Review.
  • June – October 2019: Options Phase. Possible improvements to Well Child Tamariki Ora will be tested during the Options Phase.
  • October 2019 – 1 July 2020: Implementation Phase. The first changes to Well Child Tamariki Ora are expected to be in place from 1 July 2020.

Making health more equitable

Well Child Tamariki Ora needs to achieve equity for tamariki Māori and their whānau, recognising the Crown’s responsibilities under Te Tiriti o Waitangi.  The Ministry will work with Māori and the sector to ensure the Review meets these responsibilities. 

The Review also gives our health system the opportunity to address health disparities affecting the wellbeing of other population groups, such as Pacific peoples.

Keeping you in the loop

At its core, the Review is about making sure everyone can have a say about the shape of Well Child Tamariki Ora. The Ministry has committed to early, inclusive and ongoing engagement throughout all phases of the Review and we’re working to ensure our engagement approaches reflect the wealth of cultural perspectives in Aotearoa New Zealand. We will hold face-to-face engagements including hui, talanoa and meetings for communities to have their say.

We also appreciate the importance of enabling health sector groups, such as professional colleges, to have their say too.

We will update you with more information about how you can have a say in the Review. In the meantime, please direct your feedback and queries about the Review to wcto@moh.govt.nz.

Ngā mihi nui,

Deborah Woodley
Deputy Director-General
Population Health and Prevention
Ministry of Health

Back to top