Regional workforce development hubs

Four hubs across New Zealand support the workforce development and training of health professionals to meet local community needs and make better use of resources

The hubs – three in the North Island and one in the South Island – each cover an area that's home to about one million people (noting that Northern region is 1.6 million). The hubs are a collaboration between Health Workforce New Zealand (HWNZ), regional shared services agencies, district health boards (DHBs), the broader health sector, education providers and professional associations.

The role of the hub is to demonstrate leadership and commitment to supporting the development of the region’s health workforce consistent with the objectives of the New Zealand Health Strategy and future healthcare needs and to strengthen local and regional health workforce to meet future needs.

The hubs cover the four DHB regions, and are led by regional directors of workforce development:

Northern | Waitemata, Auckland, Counties Manukau and Northland

Regional Director – Cecilia Lynch:

Website: Northern Regional Training Hub - Northern Regional Alliance

Midland | Bay of Plenty, Lakes, Tairawhiti, Taranaki, and Waikato

Regional Director – Ruth Ross:

Website: HealthShare

Central | Whanganui, Hawke’s Bay, MidCentral, Wairarapa, Capital & Coast, and Hutt Valley

Regional Director – Bridget Smith:

Website: Central Region Workforce Development

South Island | Southern, Canterbury, South Canterbury, West Coast and Nelson Marlborough

Regional Director – Kate Rawlings:

Website: South Island Workforce Development Hub

Back to top