Standards development process

Health information standards support the New Zealand Health Strategy and Vision for Health Technology.

HISO: Health Information Standards Organisation logo.

HISO standards are developed with a coordinated, consistent approach, in five stages:

  • Stage 1: Identify, Propose and Plan
  • Stage 2: Develop and Evaluate
  • Stage 3: Consult
  • Stage 4: Approve and Implement
  • Stage 5: Review and Maintain

Early engagement with HISO is encouraged in the initial stages of a project.

HISO has produced a booklet providing an overview of the process for the development, review and maintenance of standards:

Below are the links to maps or forms mentioned in the booklet:

Contact us

If you are looking to develop a standard, or simply require more information, please email us at

Back to top