Regional cancer networks

The regional cancer networks work with district health boards (DHBs) to facilitate and coordinate services across health providers at all levels. They bring a range of providers and consumer organisations together to ensure cooperation and integration of services, where appropriate.

There are four regional cancer networks in New Zealand that work across organisational boundaries to promote a collaborative approach to service planning and delivery.

The four regional networks follow district health board geographical coverage areas, and patient flow to the regional cancer centres.

Northern Cancer Network

The Northern Cancer Network emcompasses Northland, Auckland, Counties Manukau and Waitemata DHBs.  

Midland Cancer Network

The Midland Cancer Network encompasses Waikato, Lakes, Bay of Plenty and Tairawhiti DHBs.

Central Cancer Network

The Central Cancer Network encompasses Taranaki, Whanganui, MidCentral, Hawke’s Bay, Wairarapa, Hutt Valley and Capital & Coast DHBs.

Southern Cancer Network

The Southern Cancer Network encompasses Nelson/Marlborough, Canterbury, West Coast, South Canterbury and Southern DHBs.

Back to top