Uploading your contact tracing data if you test positive for COVID-19

If you test positive for COVID-19, you will be called by a contact tracer. Their job is to find out where you might have caught it, and who else you might have exposed to the virus. They will also provide advice on self-isolation and check on your health and wellbeing.

The NZ COVID Tracer app helps to make this easier. By using it to keep a digital diary of where you have been, and enabling Bluetooth to register who you’ve been near, you can access this information much quicker than trying to remember everything you’ve done in the past two weeks.

Find out more about contact tracing

Share your digital diary with contact tracers

The contact tracer will ask you about the places you’ve been and the people you’ve seen. To help with this, you can open your digital diary by going to the ‘My data’ screen and tapping the ‘My diary’ option.

The contact tracer may ask you to share your digital diary with the Ministry of Health.

You can do this by tapping the ‘Share my diary’ option within the ‘My data’ screen. You’ll be prompted to enter your personal information (if you haven’t previously entered it into NZ COVID Tracer). The contact tracer will then provide you with a verification code which will allow you to transmit your digital diary to the Ministry.

Screenshot showing the "share my digital diary" function in the app

None of this information will be shared with the Ministry until you choose to share it.

Send a Bluetooth alert

If you're using Bluetooth tracing, the contact tracer will ask if you want to send a Bluetooth alert. If you agree, the contact tracer will provide you with a verification code.

You can then initiate the alert by going to the ‘My data’ screen, tapping the ‘Share my Bluetooth tracing codes’ option and then entering the code. This will send a Bluetooth alert to the other app users who have come near enough to you for long enough to be at risk of exposure.

This cannot upload any information from your phone about where you have been or who you have been close to. It won’t identify you either. It will only alert the people who have been near you that they may have been exposed and need to be tested.

Find out more about Bluetooth alerts

Back to top