Review of the National Tumour Standards

Tumour standards are an internationally accepted approach to driving quality improvement in cancer care. They describe the level of service a person with cancer should have access to, and enable unwarranted variation in care to be identified and addressed.

The Ministry of Health is working alongside the sector to replace the provisional tumour standards with a new Standard of care for people affected by cancer.  

The purposes of the new standard are to support:

  • national consistency in access to treatment
  • equity of outcomes
  • system integration
  • a shift to people-centred (as opposed to health system centred) care.

Moving to people-centred care requires a fundamental shift in how services are currently provided and configured.  Quality improvement measures are one mechanism to support system change, and we are starting this process by defining quality statements and performance indicators that will drive people-centred change.

We are also developing indicators to drive service improvements in specific tumour types, starting with bowel cancer.

Development of the provisional standards

The provisional tumour standards were developed by sector working groups and consumer health representatives led by the Regional Cancer Networks. The first tumour standards to be developed were the Standards of Service Provision for Lung Cancer Patients, published in 2011, followed by provisional tumour standards for breast, bowel, head and neck, lymphoma, melanoma, myeloma, gynaecological, sarcoma, thyroid and upper gastrointestinal cancers in 2013.

The provisional standards are based on established national and international evidence-based guidelines, or expert opinion. The tumour standard working groups had access to expert advisors including Māori and consumer health representatives. The provisional tumour standards were informed by wider consultation from key sector stakeholders and relevant professional organisations. Draft standards were circulated for feedback in April and May 2013 and more than 160 submissions were received.

Back to top