Te Aho o Te Kahu Regional Hubs

On July 1 2020 the Regional Cancer Networks became Regional Hubs of Te Aho o Te Kahu. This move ensures continued regional presence and expertise while delivering on the Agency’s commitment to more equitable cancer care across the country.

Regional Hubs play a key role in implementing initiatives at the local/regional level and, when required, may also take the lead on national focused programmes of work.  

They provide the mechanism for local and regional communication, and contribute to implementation, evaluation, and reporting activities at the national level. 

There are four Regional Hubs that work across organisational boundaries. They follow district health board geographical coverage areas, and patient flow to the regional cancer centres.

  • The Northern Hub encompasses Northland, Auckland, Counties Manukau and Waitematā DHBs.  
  • The Te Manawa Taki Hub encompasses Waikato, Lakes, Bay of Plenty and Tairāwhiti DHBs.
  • The Central Hub encompasses Taranaki, Whanganui, MidCentral, Hawke’s Bay, Wairarapa, Hutt Valley and Capital & Coast DHBs.
  • The Southern Hub encompasses Nelson/Marlborough, Canterbury, West Coast, South Canterbury and Southern DHBs.
Back to top