Interim Cancer Control Agency Board meets

News article

25 October 2019

The Interim Cancer Control Agency Board has held its first meeting, following September's Government announcements around action against cancer. 

The Board will oversee the finalisation and implementation of the Cancer Action Plan and the establishment of the new Cancer Control Agency, one of the key priority actions in the Plan.  

Members of the Board have been appointed jointly by the Director-General of Health, and the Director of National Cancer Control. 


Dr Ashley Bloomfield - Director-General of Health 


  • Shelley Campbell - (Ngati Hine), member of Hei Ahuru Mowai, and Expert Review Panel of the Health and Disability System Review, and CEO Waikato/Bay of Plenty Cancer Society 
  • Ailsa Claire - Chair, Cancer Health Information Strategy Board, Chair of the Northern Region Cancer Board., CEO Auckland District Health Board 
  • Dr Christopher Jackson - Medical Oncologist, Southern DHB and Medical Director, NZ Cancer Society 
  • Graeme Norton - Chair of Health Consumer Councils of New Zealand
  • Professor Diana Sarfati - Director, National Cancer Control 
  • Dr Nina Scott - (Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Whātua, Waikato), Chair Hei Āhuru Mōwai - Maori Cancer Leadership Aotearoa
  • Dr Richard Sullivan - Director Cancer and Blood, Auckland District Health Board and  Director of Northern Cancer Network 
  • Professor David Tipene-Leach - (Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngāti Kere), Kaihautū/Chair for Te Ohu Rata o Aotearoa – Māori Medical Practitioners Association (Te ORA) 


  • Deborah Woodley - Deputy Director-General Population Health, Ministry of Health
  • John Whaanga - Deputy Director-General Māori Health, Ministry of Health
  • Dawn Wilson - Manager, Cancer Services, Ministry of Health.
Back to top