Cultural Competency: Pay Equity Qualification Equivalencies

Download the information on this page:

If your qualification has been assessed but requires cultural competency to be demonstrated, you have two options:

Option One

Complete the assessments in the following unit standards:

  • (28989) Apply strategies to support cultural diversity, and
  • (28543) Describe culturally safe Māori operating principles and values and their application in a health or wellbeing setting.

Please discuss with your employer how you can complete these unit standards via a provider.

Option Two

A list of qualifications assessed for cultural competency purposes can be found in the following table.

To be considered as equivalent to the New Zealand Certificate in Health and Wellbeing (Advanced Support) Level 4, you will need to meet Cultural Competency, ie, the mandatory requirement whereby graduates must consider, respect and honour the history of Māori as tangata whenua by embedding a commitment to bicultural principles.

These qualifications are accepted for Cultural Competency
Scroll down below for table of qualifications that DO NOT give the applicant Cultural Competency for pay equity purposes.
Education Provider Qualification
Ara Polytechnic Maori Health Nursing (course code GCHM700)
Auckland Goldstar Institute Diploma in Healthcare Studies - Level 5 (subject to transcript)
Auckland Goldstar Institute Diploma in Health Services Management - Level 7 - needs DHSM 702 Health and Diversity
Eastern Institute of Technology Post Graduate Diploma in Health Science - level 8
IANZ and EDENZ  Diploma in Management (Healthcare) Level 7 - (needs either BUS330 Health Services Management OR MAN350 Professional Development or DMH701)
Kiwi Institute of Training and Education Diploma in Healthcare Management – Level 7
Massey University Hauora Tangata: Māori Health Foundations
Matua Raki Two day Takarangi Competency Framework Workshop
Mauri Ora Health Education Research Foundations in Cultural Competency
Mauri Ora Health Education Research Foundations Course on Healthcare and the Treaty of Waitangi
NIE/NZIE/Kauri Academy/Cornell Diploma in Health (Advanced) (Applied Management) - Level 7 (needs 701 Health Sector Governance and Planning)
NTEC/NIE/Aspire2 Diploma in Health Services Management – Level 7
NZ Ministry of Health Certificate of Achievement in Foundations in Cultural Competency
Ringa Atawhai Maturanga Ltd NZ Certificate of Public Health and Health Promotion – Level 5
Te Wananga o Aotearoa Certificate in Tikanga Maori - Level 3
Toi Ohomai Graduate Diploma in Applied Management (Health) needs HLTH7101 Professional Aspects of Health Care
Toi Ohomai Graduate Diploma in Infection Risk Management - Level 7
Toi Ohomai Post Graduate Diploma in Management (Health) - Level 8
Unitec Institute of Technology Postgraduate Diploma in Applied Practice (Health Science) – Level 8
University of Canterbury Postgraduate Diploma in Health Sciences (endorsement in Palliative Care) – Level 8
University of Otago Postgraduate Diploma in Health Management - Level 8
Waiariki Institute of Technology  NURS6461 Kawa Whakaruruhau: Cultural Safety in Aotearoa/New Zealand
Wellington Institute of Technology Diploma in Health Psychology Hauora Hinengaro - Level 5
Your official NZQA Record of Achievement shows unit standards 1304 and 6422; or unit standard 23380.  
The following qualifications DO NOT give the applicant Cultural Competency for pay equity purposes
Education Provider Qualification
EDENZ Diploma in Management (Health Services) - Level 5
EDENZ/Queens Academic Group Diploma in Business  - Level 7
Emerge Aotearoa - internal course Working with Maori 
Queens Academic Group Diploma in Business Management - Level 7  (specialisation in Healthcare Management)
Queens Academic Group OR International College of Auckland Diploma in Business (Healthcare Management) - Level 7
Back to top