About the Mental Health Review Tribunal


The Mental Health (Compulsory Assessment and Treatment) Act 1992 came into force in November 1992. At that time the Minister appointed two Review Tribunals, the Northern and the Southern.

On 1 July 2002 the two were combined to form a single Mental Health Review Tribunal (MHRT), and its functions, role, powers and procedures have remained mostly the same since the Act came into force.


The MHRT is made up of a lawyer, a psychiatrist and a community member, one of whom is the convenor of the tribunal. There are also about a dozen deputy members.

All are appointed by the Minister of Health for three year terms, although appointments can be renewed. All current members' and deputy members' appointments will expire on 19 November 2024.

Although the MHRT usually sits as a panel of three, a fourth member is occasionally added to the panel. This happens when they have specialised knowledge or expertise, or for reasons of ethnic identity or gender.

Current members

  • James Wilding QC, lawyer member (convener)
  • Phyllis Tangitu, community member
  • Dr Nick Judson, psychiatrist member

Deputy lawyer members

  • Tim Clarke, deputy lawyer member
  • Robb Newberry, deputy lawyer member
  • Annie Rakena, deputy lawyer member
  • Alice McCarthy, deputy lawyer member

Deputy psychiatrist members

  • Dr Hinemoa Elder, deputy psychiatrist member
  • Dr Peri Renison, deputy psychiatrist member
  • Dr Sigurd Schmidt, deputy psychiatrist member
  • Dr Ben Beaglehole, deputy psychiatrist member
  • Dr Christine Dudek-Hodge, deputy psychiatrist member
  • Dr Jeremy McMinn, deputy psychiatrist member
  • Dr Jeremy Whiting, deputy psychiatrist member
  • Dr Margaret Honeyman, deputy psychiatrist member

Deputy community members

  • Francis Diver, deputy community member
  • Michael Sukolski, deputy community member
  • Sumita Sumita, deputy community member
  • Shomilla Sidal, deputy community member
  • Liz Pennington, deputy community member
  • Shannon Hanrahan, deputy community member

Relationship with the Ministry of Health

The Director of Mental Health, an official within the Ministry of Health, is responsible for the MHRT's general administration.

The MHRT may at any time, and if asked by the Director, report to them on any matter relating to the exercise or performance of its powers and functions under the Act.

The Ministry of Health is responsible for making sure MHRT members are paid, funds the MHRT's activities, and appoints its members. However, the MHRT retains strict independence from the Ministry and the Minister of Health when making decisions about patients.


The MHRT has a Wellington-based secretariat responsible for receiving applications, handling correspondence and enquiries, and making all necessary arrangements for hearings to take place.

A central secretariat is necessary because the members of the MHRT only undertake work for it on a part time basis and are based in various localities throughout New Zealand.

The secretariat requirements of the MHRT are provided by the law firm of Allen + Clark under contract with the Ministry of Health.

Contact us

Mail address: Mental Health Review Tribunal
PO Box 10407, Wellington 6140.

Telephone: 0800 114 645

Email: [email protected]

Back to top