Clinical leadership

The Ministry's clinical leaders provide clinical leadership and advice and are likely to have professional backgrounds. The provision of practical, clinical and technical advice is key to helping New Zealanders live longer, healthier and more independent lives.

Executive Leadership Team

There are three clinical leadership roles within the Ministry’s executive leadership team – the Chief Medical Officer, the Chief Nursing Officer and the Chief Allied Health Professions Officer. Working in partnership, these roles are the key point of contact for clinical input and strategic professional advice to the Ministry, Ministers and the wider health and disability sector.

Roles that have a statutory function

There are also clinical leadership roles within the Ministry which have functions set out in law.

These include the Director of Public Health, the Director of Mental Health and the Director of Addiction Services.

Visit the Roles that have a statutory function page for more information.

Back to top